Skip to content

This is early?

March 1, 2010

One of the biggest perks of moving to France was going to be the hours that Principe was going to start keeping. In Spain it is normal to come home from work around 7:30 or 8pm. Not that all people get home at that time, but it is normal to the point that you shouldn’t complain if those are your hours. But France is different. At least it is supposed to be. They are supposed to keep more of the English hours than the Iberian Peninsula hours, but here it is 7:52 and Principe is still not home. He just called to say that he is getting into the car, which means he will be home in about 15-20 minutes.

I try not to complain and I try not to let this affect my mood, but it’s hard. Take today for example. My mood is totally affected by the fact that when I called him at 7pm he tells me that he needs to just finish one more thing and will leave as soon as he is finished. I know that this means he won’t be home for at least another hour. And that makes me crabby. Twelve hour days with a two year old are long, especially when you start telling yourself around 5pm that you will get help soon. But then that help never comes. Or comes just in time to place pjs on the two year old, play with her and then hand her over to you to put her in bed. I’m just crabby, I guess.

This last weekend was a nice family weekend, but I got absolutely no writing done since Principe must watch two soccer games over the internet on Saturday and at least one on Sunday. Besides soccer he hogs the computer in order to catch up with banking (a family necessity, granted) and the news (definitely not a reason why he should get the computer over me, but for some reason he always does. Somehow when he is ready to hand it over Queenie needs my attention or something else is occupying me and I lose my chance…)

This weekend I also started contractions. Not just Braxton Hicks, but contracts very low in the pelvis along with quite a bit of pain. Yesterday I was telling Principe that I wasn’t sure what was going on but that I was about to get on my knees and pray against early delivery. I am 35 weeks and surely Little N is viable now, but I would like her to wait at least another two weeks so that she isn’t considered premature.

But the thing that really concerns me is that we have no one here to watch over Queenie if I do indeed go into labor early. Little N is due on April 6 and we have asked that Principe’s parents come on April 1st to be sure that they are here, but with these new pains and contractions my big question is whether or not we should ask them to come here sooner. Not that I am really looking forward to sharing my house. To be honest, I don’t like sharing my house with people that much, although if it is for a determined amount of time I can be okay with it, even excited, but this is an undetermined amount of time we are talking about and that thought scares me. The fact that I will constantly feel the need to entertain or not feel able to go into the playroom to write or scrap (because the playroom also doubles asĀ  a guess room) or fee like I need to explain the plan of the day or invite them everywhere I go or explain why the majority of the days lunch is haphazard instead of a real Spanish meal, etc. It is just difficult. The very thought of it is difficult, but the reality is worse.

As I have said before my in-laws are some of the sweetest people I know. This is a not a personal slam to them. This is simply how it is. Having in-laws over is totally different than having your own family over. I can say no to my mom, I can tell her to bugger off, I can tell her to stop treating me like an invalid, I can listen to my preaching tapes without feeling like I am ignoring her, I can writer, I can scrap, I can do flashcards with Sofia….and not feel like I need to explain anything to her. Not so with in-laws. I’m pretty sure that is the case with everyone, no?

So we come back to the original question of whether to invite the in-laws over earlier than April or not. Should we be safer than sorry? If only I had these same pains, cramps and contractions with Queenie, then maybe I would be more calm. But this is different than with Queenie. Every pregnancy is different, right? That just sucks. It really does.

At least we have a consult tomorrow. I can ask, although he will probably just shrug is shoulders and say that nothing and everything is an indication to labor. Blah, blah, blah. I’m thinking I will end up sucking it up and inviting the inlaws over by the middle of the month to be sure. There is something to intuition, no? And my intuition says she is coming early. Just how early, now that is the real question…

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Julie permalink
    March 1, 2010 10:24 pm

    Definitely get the in-laws over early if possible – you never know what will happen. Having said that, it is the case that “everything and nothing” indicates pending labour. I had an ob appointment the Wednesday my son was due. He said I would probably be induced again for being overdue. I had no Branxton Hicks or anything. That Friday night, my son arrived within 5 hours of the first tinge I had felt!

    I sympathise on the 12 hour days. I am so blessed with my husband’s work. I only have 10 hour days alone (7am-5pm) and both kids still sleep for 2 hours in there too, so I get time-out. I hate my husband is awake and I have to do the dinner/bath/bed thing on my own. It must be so hard for you being heavily pregnant too. Hope those hours improve soon.

    • wideopenworld permalink*
      March 3, 2010 5:23 pm

      Thanks for the encouragement and sympathy! The doc appointment went well and her head is not yet engaged, but as he said that could change at any moment. For the weekend that Principe is gone we have set up with friends (who are usually not in town, but that weekend will be in town) to be “on call” for me if I need anything. That is something. After next weekend we have another appointment and might have the inlaws come after that one, just to be safe. It is so hard to schedule this!

  2. March 1, 2010 11:22 pm

    Don’t I know how you feel. Mr Foodie worked from 6h30 until 19h00 last week and the days were very very long. My first daughter was 5 weeks premature. And there weren’t any warning signs. I hope it doesn’t happen to you, not because of the experience I had but because you wouldn’t have anybody to look after Queenie. As for in laws coming over, it is difficult. I get on really well with my mother in law but my days are spent doing very little when she is around. In my case, I think it is more difficult when my family are over because I still think they expect us to bring them around and show them the country! Hope all will be well. X

    • wideopenworld permalink*
      March 3, 2010 5:27 pm

      WOW! Those are really long hours! The doc actually did an internal yesterday and found out that while her head is down it is not engaged and I am just haivng normal Braxton Hicks. We are going to hold out on the inlaws for the moment. Principe seems just as hesitant as me to invite them over so soon. Four weeks with anyone living in your house can be a lot, even if they are your own parents! I get along wonderfully with them and I know that it will be fine, really, I am just being selfish because I like doing what I want to do without explaining anything to anyone. Like why has Queenie gotten to watch three hours of movies today……I don’t want to explain that! :) Anyway, all will be well, I’m sure!

  3. March 3, 2010 8:41 pm

    I hope you can get a chance to put your feet up and relax before the baby comes…and do it while on the computer.. found your blog from the MomBlog Network and am now a follower…

    • wideopenworld permalink*
      March 4, 2010 9:58 pm

      Thanks! I am doing just that right now!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.