Skip to content

This is where I live Thursday

March 18, 2010

You thought I forgot, didn’t you? But I didn’t. It’s just that we had doctor’s appointments all afternoon and we just got home. The post I was meaning to write for today will go up tomorrow. Besides the post on Queenie below here is a mellow one of pictures of Toulouse. This week: random pictures of the streets.

Not the greatest picture but it is a street that Queenie and I walk along almost every day, so it’s like you are right there with us….!

I love how things never got covered up, painted over or really ever torn down in Europe. They usually destroy the inside of a building if need be, but leave the facade as is. This way you end up getting names of things still painted on the walls long after that store (or whatever it was) is actually gone. It is a very interesting way of doing things. Of course, doing this in the States is not really an option.

This is a night club that I will probably never get to see the inside of, but it looks fun and interesting from the outside. It is actually Spanish, well, at least the name is and all the writing on the chalkboard indicated this to be so. Doesn’t it make you curious to see what is inside? Me, too.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 18, 2010 11:17 pm

    Great photos again. I love seeing Toulouse through your eyes. Australia is similar to the US. We have patches of beautiful old buildings, but most of them have been torn down to build bigger and better…

  2. March 19, 2010 2:50 pm

    Whoa! You do live right bang in the centre! It’s good to see pictures of home. Hopefully, I’ll get there this summer! It is great to ‘see’ it through your eyes as I’m so used to the old buildings etc that after a while I don’t even notice the beauty of them. Thanks!

    • wideopenworld permalink*
      March 19, 2010 6:44 pm

      It’s the American in me! Principe always laughs at me when I ohh and awe about old things in Europe! The forums were my favorite part of Rome!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.