Skip to content

It is 12 noon

March 23, 2010

It is 12 noon. I’ve been awake for 8 hours. I’ve been out of bed for 6 hours. Queenie fell asleep on the stroller on the way back from the grocery store, something she never does. She was that tired. And who could blame her? She woke up at 4 AM looking for DeeDee (her stuffed elephant) but when I found him and put her back to bed she took the opportunity to start crying. And didn’t stop for another two hours when I finally got up and brought her out into the living room. Twice she was quiet for about 15 minutes, but she would then start crying again.

When I got up for good she was out of bed and she told me, “Papa, a nigh-nigh. Bu nena, e bitu.” (“Papa said to go night-night but nena (she calls herself nena, which means little girl, because she can’t yet say her name) is awake.”)

I told her that she should do what papa tells her to do and that she can only get up now because it is wake up time, but before it was night-night time and she disobeyed her papa by not going to sleep.

Do you think she understood? Oh, sure. absolutely! I’m sure we won’t have this problem ever again. Ever, ever. Right?

And we were doing so well. Three nights in a row she slept almost all through the night. The last of the three nights she woke up in pain but went right back to bed once she took some medicine. Is it a coincidence that she woke up last night at 4 AM the same time that she woke up in pain from her molars (and unable to breathe because of her nose) and got medicine, water and a hug? I’m thinking the pediatrician would say it is not. But what are we supposed to do? Let her cry unable to breathe and in pain because we don’t want her waking up at the same time the next night?

Am I making any sense? I’m very tired. Did I mention that we went to bed at midnight, which means I really only slept 4 hours. Principe pretty much slept the same amount even though he was in bed for a bit longer. These are the days that I don’t envy him having to go to work. Not at all.

Maybe I’ll have something more interesting to talk about after a little bit of a nap.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Julie permalink
    March 24, 2010 3:23 am

    I really hope you get sleep tonight! You need to stock up on it before baby #2 comes…

  2. wideopenworld permalink*
    March 24, 2010 4:19 pm

    I know, right? She did sleep through the night last night but has decided not to take more than the hour stroller ride nap. I am about ready to fall over!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.