Skip to content

Why I call her “Queenie”

July 26, 2009

A prime example of why she has this nickname.

I decided to mop the floor on Friday, which meant I need something to keep my little Queenie off of them for the 5 minutes it takes them to dry in this heat. (Fast, huh?) Anyway, I decided to place her on my bed, which she loves to be on for some reason, with her bottle, her elephant and the portable DVD player with Bay Einstein (or “babies” as she calls it). Things are going smoothly as I scrub the grime off the floor and just as I am about to finish I hear her.

“Mama! Mama! Mama!”

“What, honey?”

“Má! Má! Mama! Má!” (Má means más (more) in Spanish)

“What?”

I wring out the mop and lean it against the wall before walking into my room. Once she sees me she waves her empty bottle at me while saying, “Ba, sthha, sha, see, me ma.” (my attempt at her language).

When she is done telling me in a firm and pretty loud voice to get her more juice she promptly stuck her thumb in her mouth, grabbed Elephant and turned back to “babies.”

Needless to say I waited until she was done with “babies” to get her more juice. Gosh darn it, mama rules this house and she isn’t going to give up her crown that easily.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

