Skip to content

Breastfeeding play?

August 8, 2009

bebe_si_glotonAs World Breastfeeding Week comes to an end I am finally getting out this post. It is interesting how this doll made the news during this last week, although none of the new organizations made the connection.

I would like you all to meet Bebé Glotón, a doll made in Spain that simulates breastfeeding. It comes with a vest with flower patches where breasts will appear when a little girl hits puberty that the girl puts on in order for the doll to “latch on”. It cries for more if taken away from the breast flower too soon and makes smacking noises and burps when satisfied.

Now, I am being pulled two ways here. As a breastfeeding advocate I can see how this is a good thing. It starts little girls out young knowing that there is another way other than the bottle to feed a baby. Here in Spain breastfeeding and breasts in general are much more out in the open, as is so in much of the world. In the States, since we live in cars and not out in the open, we are more closed and private about breastfeeding and breasts, which I don’t think is wrong or right. Everyone has their own comfort zone, but I do think that people should be okay with a breastfeeding mother in public. If it makes them uncomfortable they don’t have to look or they can go away. That said I do hate it, even as a breatfeeding mother who breastfed Queenie until 15 months, when woman just let it pop out  when you are speaking to them (this is from waitressing experience, man was that uncomfortable. But I never said anything!)

Now that I’ve patted myself on the back for being a good advocate I have to admit that this doll is a bit weird and that even Spanish Prince admitted that he wouldn’t want to buy it for Queenie. There is something a bit weird about a little girl putting on a vest with flowers representing her, as of yet undeveloped, breasts in order to stimulate the doll to eat. When this next baby comes Queenie will be almost 2 1/2 and as much as she likes to play with her dolls now, I would think she will still 9 months from now. And I wouldn’t be surprised if, after seeing me feed her brother/sister, that she pretend to feed her own baby doll by placing her at her chest. And I wouldn’t have a problem with it. But a doll….?

I don’t know. What do you think? Am I being a prude?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

