Skip to content

Morning Sickness

September 2, 2009

I shouldn’t complain because I know that there are pregnant women out there with severe morning sickness who can barely get out of bed. Lately I haven’t been able to eat much because of constant stomach upset; a bit of nausea but without vomiting (thank goodness) along with a constant repulsion towards food and beverages. Yesterday was the worst day. I had to sit in front of the fan all day long in order to keep myself from vomiting, had a headache from not being able to drink my coffee (I am an addcit and usually drink two to three cups a day when not pregnant) and had to muster every will-power cell in my body just to be able to take Queenie to the park or play with her blocks and puzzles.

Yesterday was bad, but this morning things are looking up. I am slow, slower than when not pregnant, but I was able to eat some cereal and drink diluted coffee as well as take my vitamin pill. My stomach still feels upset and I did have a moment of almost needing to hang my head over the toilet, but the crisis was avertted and I am now looking forward to taking Queenie to the pool as soon as she eats her d**m hot dog. Her eating habits have gotten a little better but they are still the focal point of frustration for my day.

But, as I said, I shouldn’t really complain. It is just that I didn’t have this with Queenie, so it is all new. The thing I am most thankful about right now is working from home and not in an office. I’m not sure I would have made it through the day yesterday if it were the other way around! But today I have more energy and am ready to play! Stomach blahs and all. Because in the end, focusing on sickness makes you more sick!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

