Skip to content

I’m a germ freak

September 13, 2009

I admit it. I have a problem. It makes me nervous to see my daughter rubbing her hands over walls and doors and whatever else is in her way as we walk through the city streets. Ick, Ick, Ick. She knows the word “ickies” and “caca” really well and usually doesn’t touch that certain object that I have crowned with the meaning of said words. Unless she is in one of her rebelious, toddler moods in which she feels the force moving her to do the opposite of what I ask her to do.

It seems that more than understanding these two words and that she shouldn’t then touch those thing named as such, but has inherited my ultimately annoying fear of germs. I’m not a mom that won’t let her play in the sand or mud. She can play away. But she can’t then put her fingers in her mouth. No, sir. It hurts mommy to see that. In fact, that is why I keep a small bar of soap in the diaper bag: to wash hands in the water fountain as we leave the park. This is because she wants to suck her thumb as she pouts on the way home. Fine. But she will do so with a clean thumb, darn it.

Although I am glad that she likes to be a clean little girl, likes to get her hands washed, likes to throw things away, will not touch things that look like ickies and will, in fact, let me know in order to get said object out of her way, I do not want her to be a freak like me. Why?

This is why. I have to wash my hands if:

I just got home. I go to the bathroom (hopefully all of you, too!). I lift the toilet lid to throw a piece of toilet paper in there. Touch anything about the toilet. I might have touched meat. I touch the outside of a meat package. I touch eggs. I touch meat. I touch dirty veggies (I clean all veggies and fruits in food-friendly bleach. I also wash my eggs). I touch feet. I touch shoes. I clean something. I dust. I touch the trash bag. I take out the trash. I touch the trash can’s lid. I touch an animal. I touch a basketball, baseball, tennis ball, etc. I change a diaper. I touch the floor. I touch the vacuum or mop or broom, that includes the dustbin. I touch animal food. I touch canned food from stores.

Shall I go on?

Yes. This makes cooking look like a three-ringed circus with me. I drawn my cutting boards and anything else that touches meat in vinager before washing them in hot, soapy water. Then I wash my hands again.I can’t stand watching my husband cook meat in the kitchen and go behind him disinfecting everything. I hate it when my MIL cooks in my kitchen. She sticks her fingers in the salt jar (even though there is a spoon) with no regard to the fact that she has just touched meat and only wiped her fingers on a towel afterwards. I found a shrimp antena in the salt once and had to throw the whole jarful out. It was from cooked shrimp.

The kitchen gets clean twice a week and everytime that something that has had meat on it gets into the sink. The bathroom gets clean once a week, the toilet sometimes twice. The bathtub maybe again if Queenie is really dirty. The floors get vacuumed three times a week and mopped at least once. The kitchen get mopped with bleach two to three times. Toys get bleached if they ever went outside or touch sand and get it every so often as I am bleaching veggies.

I can’t help it. I can feel the germs crawling on my hands if I do any of the above mentioned things (that isn’t the full list, either). It sucks. It really does. I even have a problem believing that my hands are clean after washing them in a public bathroom. I don’t touch the doorknobs/handles with my hands either. When out I always have a bar of soap with me.

As I said, I’m a freak. I hope Queenie doesn’t end up as bad as me.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 1, 2009 5:04 pm

    I don’t know If I said it already but …I’m so glad I found this site…Keep up the good work I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say GREAT blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read..Jim Bean

Leave a Reply

