Skip to content

Every Mom Should Lift Weights

September 19, 2009

During my weightlifting class yesterday, the first time I’ve been in a week due to a cold that turned into a chest cold (blah!), I suddenly thought, “Every mom should lift weights.” Even better, every mom should go to a weight lifting class.

I love my weightlifting class. It isn’t too hard, but it’s hard enough. Just when you think you can’t do any more lunges, the set is over. The music is upbeat and changes frequently enough to keep it interesting. The routine is done for weeks at a time in order for you to possibly go up in weights, but little tidbits are added in so it isn’t boring. The people, mostly women, are not bodybuilders so you don’t feel totally out of place. Plus, anyone can come in, whether a beginner using very little weight to advanced goers using as much as the monitor uses.

Since I started going to the class my back has hurt less, Queenie is easier to lift and I have found myself using better lifting techinique at home for the daily things that all of us moms do. I can’t encourage you enough to try a class at your local gym if you have a membership. If you don’t, I could definitely recommend a book to you to try. It is a book written for brides, but the workouts are awesome and the tutorials are encouraging: BOOTCAMP 360: A Complete Fitness Program for Brides by Tamara Kleinberg. Even if you aren’t getting married, this book is great. It uses lots of things that many of already have at home. I would recommend getting a partner to do it with you. It will be more fun than just counting by yourself and you can exchange music to use during each session.

If any of you out there are suffering from back pain due to picking up little ones all day long, starting a weight session will help you tremendously. Really. And you don’t have to use a lot of weight. For triceps and biceps I use 5 pounds, for legs and but I use 10, for back I use 10-12 and for shoulders I use 7-8. Start out a bit smaller, but with something that is a bit challenging at the end of the last set (it should hurt a bit to do those last 3-5 lifts of the last set). You will be a little sore the next day, but will start to see the difference in your everyday life almost immediately.

As for being pregnant while lifting weights? Well, talk to your doctor first. I started lifting weights before I was pregnant, so as long as I listen to my body, rest when I need to and don’t go higher too quickly in the weights I got my go ahead. I’m pretty sure my sister-in-law thinks I’m crazy, but I swear it helps me in so many ways. Just because I’m pregnant doesn’t mean that I have to stop picking up Queenie or doing physical exercise. While I know that I should take it easier than if I weren’t pregnant, life does go on and being the only one at home for 10 hours a day or more, I need to be strong. Physically, strong. Besides, it helps keep my back strong, which will come in handy when the belly gets so big it should hurt. My legs with be strong, helping me carrying my weight around. And my arms will stay in shape instead of becoming flappy (which is a plus, whether you are pregnant or not!). Besides, if I can continue going while pregnant, it won’t be so hard to return to the gym after the 40 day resting period and getting rid of the weight them won’t be so hard. I can only see positives here!

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 30, 2009 10:03 pm

    Hey, I found your blog in a new directory of blogs. I dont know how your blog came up, must have been a typo, anyway cool blog, I bookmarked you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

