Skip to content

Playgroup

September 22, 2009

We had a good day today. After three years of living in Madrid and with Queenie almost two years old I finally found a playgroup! And it’s English speaking, no less! Not that it really matters, but the only reason there is a playgroup is because it was set up by ex-pats from the UK. Those British are so brillant. (!)

Anyway, things went well. So well that Queenie didn’t want to leave. While all the other children quietly and obdiently got into their slings or strollers, my little girl ran away from me screaming. She ran to any toy that hadn’t been picked up yet and laughed as I wearily watched her play for a few precious seconds more.Finally there was no option left but to pick her up, kicking and screaming, and place her into the stroller all the while promising that we will return on Thursday. It’s 7 bucks but well worth it to be able to speak to other adults and let her run around. The main problem is lunch as it ends at 12:30 and the bus ride home takes us about 45 minutes. I stopped to get snacks today, but I think we may have to pack a lunch from now on. Not fun with a toddler who hates to eat. If anyone has suggestions, PLEASE let me know!

Needlesstosay, she was a stinker the rest of the afternoon. Didn’t want to take a nap. Screamed and cried, with her eyes closed. We did this on and off again thing for about two hours until my head was about to explode and my bottom lip was practically bleeding from being bitten (by me) so much. I find it a good way to keep myself from raising my voice too much or saying things that I will regret later. By 4:30 she went to sleep. I hate letting her cry it out in her crib. I am so not an advocate of it. I HATE it, but there are times when it is necessary. Truely. If you are a parents of a child younger than Queenie (22 months) you may not think that yet, but it is true. The last time I placed her in her crib, after trying to cuddle with her, rock her, sing to her, read to her, rub her tummy (just in case), reason with her (please! So funny that I do this. I should video tape it just for a laugh. Reason with a toddler. What an idiot) she cried for another minute or so and was finally asleep for 2 hours.

I am exhausted. I don’t know if it was the adult interaction today that I’m not used to, or the putting her to bed or being a single parent as Principe is working a lot (11pm and he still isn’t home) or being pregnant. Don’t know. But I need sleep so badly my eyes are burning. Why then are you typing on your stupid blog then, you ask? Addicted, I guess.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

