Skip to content

By the bye…

October 21, 2009
tags: ,

Whatever happened to the phrase. It’s such a good one. I mean, I know that this is really the kind of thing that Word Girl does and I do not mean to tread on her territory, but really, this is a cool phrase that makes you feel all Jane Austen when using it. (It is a phrase that introduces a new topic of conversation. Like “incidentally…..” Not sure too many of us use that word either…)

By the bye, this is my topic for the day. Creative, yes. Although it may get annoying by the end as I will probably take on a British feel by the time I’m done. Blame it on all the British mums at my playgroup. Blame it on the fact that I’m bored. Blame it on the rain. I don’t really care. Or should I say, I don’t give a powder puffs arse. (Do they say that stuff? I’ll have to ask. Sounds right….)

By the bye, I’m going to kill my dishwasher. If I could physically kill I would take great joy in doing so. I didn’t doesn’t work and makes this really awful sound but I don’t want to start washing the dishes by hand. Not after a full year and a half of not having to do so. The only things keeping me from throwing its arse out the bloody window is the thought of a future of chapped hands and/or a continually messy kitchen. I prefer half-washed dishes.

By the bye, I actually have work this week. A dear friend of mine who is a translator wants to branch out into Spanish-English, but since he isn’t a native he needs help. So we are collaborating together. I started today, and although it may be a pretty boring topic, I will earn 150euro from about 3 hours of work, not including the editing/proofing process. Not bad.

By the bye, I can’t seem to type today. If I left all the mistakes I am making in her you wouldn’t be able to understand a word I was saying. It would be as though I had my brain wires crossed. Thank goodness for spell check, eh? (Okay, that was a bit Canadian more than British, but Anne of Green Gables was my favourite book/movie as a preteen and she was Canadian. What does that have to do with anything…..nothing, really.)

By the bye, Queenie is better and actually eating. She would prefer to eat chocolate all day long and I am half tempted to let her, but the hyper-nutritionist in me won’t let me. I did get her to eat a full bowl of chicken and dumplings.

By the bye, I made some freaking awesome chicken and dumplings. I’m thinking of becoming a cook.

Seriously, all joking aside, I keep dreaming about opening an American bakery in Spain. People here have no concept of cake here and need to be taught that it the definition of said item is not “layer whip cream on top of whip cream on top of chocolate syrup on top of whip cream”. Seriously, it’s gross. Today I thought a Cupcakerie would be a hit. especially in Madrid. But we are moving to Toulouse in February so it will have to wait. By the time we get back I’m sure I will have lost interest. Oh, well.

By the bye, did you see this video of the train hitting the stroller with a six month old inside. And the baby is okay? I’m surprised the mom didn’t have a heart attack right there. She must still be shaken up. And it is totally something that could happen to anyone. (shudder)

By the bye, playgroup three times a week is making me slack off on housework. There are days when six o’clock rolls around and I look around and think, “What the heck did I do all afternoon?” You know what the answer is, don’t you? Nothing.

By the bye, my OB tisked at me for having gained 5.5 pounds in 5 weeks. Yes, yes, she has a right to do so, since that kind of is a lot. But let me clarify: that would be 6 pounds for the last 17 weeks. So bite me. Or I’ll just bite this doughnut….

By the bye, my in laws are doing great about not obsessing about the whole Down Syndrome thing. They surprise me, actually.

By the bye, better get back to the ol’ translation work.

Now, that wasn’t so bad, was it? And the British didn’t come out in me. Hmmm. I’ll have to work on that and have a really British post some day. They have me saying “biscuits” now instead of “cookies” at playgroup. It’s like a language plague. At least in my brain. I can’t help it, I have always taken on the accents of people who I’m around. It’s embarrassing, but true.

But this time I am fighting back.

And now to throw out my dishwasher. It runs for 2 minutes and then shuts off. Unnerving.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 21, 2009 4:49 pm

    By the bye, I don’t want to feel all Jane Austen-y. This is the last time I use this phrase. šŸ™‚

  2. October 21, 2009 10:14 pm

    I don’t take on the accents of people I’m around, but if I’m reading a British novel or a novel set in a time with different diction, I think that way in my head. So while I say, “I’m hungry. I think I’ll start dinner.” In my head, I’m saying, “I do believe I’m a bit peckish.” šŸ™‚ Fun post!

    • wideopenworld permalink*
      October 23, 2009 7:57 am

      Isn’t it funny? I do that too. It’s so much fun to be British in your head…until it gets to the point where you can’t remember how to think as you did before!

Leave a Reply

