Skip to content

Happy Birthday, Me!

October 24, 2009

As my niece said for an entire year after experiencing her second birthday (the first that clearly made an impact!). Every birthday that came around, as soon as she saw the candles she would scream, “Happy Birthday, ME!”  Yes, ooh and aw at the cuteness. I don’t blame you.

So, today is my birthday. 28 years old. Pretty uneventful, but that is what happens when you get older and are married with small child(red). Principe took my out on Thursday night to a fancy restaurant that was participating in an event where we could eat for 25 Euro each (when it would usually cost around 40) so he woke up today not even thinking that it was a big day. I had to remind him! 🙂 Oh, men! Then he finally admitted that he didn’t have anything planned for the day, didn’t even have a small present from Queenie, which is strange because she gave me a present last year and for Mother’s Day. Really dropping the ball, Principe. Perhaps I should change your name here…..

I’m not actually upset about it. This morning we went to a Halloween party for Queenie with the American Women’s Cludb of Madrid. It was nice to go and talk to other Americans or people married to Americans and it was especially nice for Principe to see Queenie paint and color and interact with other kids. Most kids were older than her, but she still had fun. Afterwards we went out for a caña but ended up having lunch: roast veggies, patatas bravas and sepia (cuttle fish). Yum. I can still taste the garlic! Queenie was super good. She watched the birds eat bits of bread from the ground and eat her sandwhich and potatoes well. Actually, she has eaten really well all week long. Of course, when we had cake this evening she eat the frosting off, getting as little cake as possible on her fork, but hey. She is only 23 months!

Birthdays are a big deal to me. I like to make a cake (although my oven today deciding to burn the outside of the cake while leaving the middle mush. Temp must be off. Yes, it’s a big deal. I take pride in my baking and have feelings of failure and depression when they come out like they used to when I was 12 years old. I would throw it out if I had time to make another one.) I wire cut the two cakes in half and placed them back in the oven to toast the middle a bit. Oh, well. Nothing a lot of frosting can’t fix….!

Now that my birthday, as uneventful as it was, has come and almost gone, my thoughts are turning to Queenie’s second birthday. The party we are sharing with her cousin who will turn 1 the week before. As luck would have it, we are celebrating the party two weeks later than hers and one week later than Queenie’s, even though both of theirs fall on a Sunday. Scheduling stuff.

The actual day of her birthday it looks like we will be with the inlaws. And I’m not too excited. It makes sense to go, as it gives us a chance to celebrate all the many November birthdays in one day, but I would rather stay home. Birthdays are not what I expect them to be here. Principe grew up with a birthday meaning that everyone calls to wish you a happy birthday and you get to choose the lunch for the day. And there is a random present thrown in there at some point. There might be a cake, there probably won’t. But it just isn’t a big deal. No one gets overly excited. No one lets you each frosting for breakfast or plan a special day. It’s just another day, really.

But for me it is more. I like candles, and excitement and feeling special all day long. Like being called “the birthday girl” and getting toast made for me and being allowed to watch an old movie instead of soccer. Guess what I’m watching now…..? No, it isn’t Humphry Bogart. More like Real Madrid. 😯

Cutlure differences. Family tradition differences. Who knows. But if we go to the inlaw thing that weekend I already have a promise from Principe that we will return early to do a small family thing here. The inlaws will be confused and a little ticked about it, but there are some traditions that have to be just our own, don’t you think?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 28, 2009 5:58 am

    Happy Birthday! My birthday was the 25th 🙂 Hope you had a wonderful one 🙂

    • wideopenworld permalink*
      October 28, 2009 6:40 pm

      Thanks! Happy birthday to you, too!

Leave a Reply

