Skip to content

Doctor, doctor!

January 16, 2010

I need a doctor. And soon. To be a bit more specific I need an Obstetrician.

Not that I’m freaking out, because I’m not. I’m actually very calm. Too calm. Calm to the point where I could easily forget that I need a doctor and find myself soon standing in a pool of amniotic fluid without said doctor and not sure where to go.

There are 12 days left until we move to a new city and new country. Which means a new health care system. And although we have asked for information from several people, we have yet to hear back from them. The good news is that we have two lists: one with doctors who speak English and one with doctors who speak Spanish. But we still need to understand how the system works and find out who is capably of admitting a 7 month pregnant women into their practice. For some reason I am thinking it will be a piece of cake. Faith, people. Gotta have it. But you also can’t be stupid and just sit around waiting for a doctor to call you, right?

Pretty sure. So, yes. Next week I need a doctor, whether or not we get info back from people. I might just have to insult the French nurse with my bad version of her language to find out if I can get an appointment.

Oh, to add one more interesting note to the whole Moving-to-a-new-country,-about-to-give-birth thing: Principe has to go to the States again for work either at the end of February or beginning of March. Now, I’m not due until April 6, but this is the second baby people and anything can happen! Plus, he will probably make me accept his parent’s sure offer of coming to stay, which means they will probably then end up staying an entire month until the baby is finally born….and I’m not sure I can handle that. There will be lots of praying going on if that is the case! LOTS OF PRAYING!

As I said, this is going to ba an adventure and I’m up for it…..I would just rather not have “finding an hospital while in labor” a chapter.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

