Skip to content

49 stairs

February 10, 2010

That’s a lot of stairs for little toddler legs. That’s a lot of stairs for long mommy legs, but since my buttocks have spread a bit more than I was initially hoping for at the beginning of the pregancy and the dimplage, creases and loss of muscle tone makes me avoid the many mirrors that have popped up in my new house, I am trying to view said 49 stairs as a blessing in working off my extra mini-snickers a day craving rather than an evil.

Yesterday as we folded up the stroller to leave downstairs and I swung the diaper bag, purse and other purchases to one side of my body in order to face the first four steps Queenie looked up at me and sighed the biggest sigh I have heard from her. I couldn’t help but giggle a bit, hold out my hand and encourage her that we can do it. She grabbed hold of the wrought-iron posts that hold of the handrail and started pulling herself up. One positive that has come from our first ten days in our new home is that Queenie has learned to alternate legs going up the stairs. Going up 49 stairs with just her right leg soon became too tiresome!

You may be thinking that this is all and well. Sucks not to have an elevator but when you only have one little person to look out for it is entirely possible to deal with. On the other hand, what is it that I plan to do when Little N comes into this world? Hmmm.

The initial plan is to use the baby wrap. Possibly even buy a brand new one, although I haven’t figured out which one I want of the may that look so cute and wonderful to have. Right now I have one that my cousin made for my nephew who died. It is an old school baby wrap made of non-stretch cotton in a red plaid. I love it, but I wouldn’t mind having another one in case of newborn poo and spit-up episodes that we all know happen! I am actually very excited about the baby wrap option. Since Queenie was born in November I didn’t use it much until spring time and I didn’t have the confidence to use it around my family because they were constantly complaining that I held her too much. Well, they were just constantly complaining. Anyway…

I am hoping the baby wrap thing works. The big concern about that isn’t actually the stairs, as the added kilos in front will help me burn the after pregnancy pounds! (Does ‘sweating it out work’? ‘Cause the baby wrap will help with that, too! See? There are only benefits to this!) The biggest concern is then not being able to hold Queenie when she gets tired or falls down or we have stayed out past nap time. …..I’m at a loss. Any suggestions?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Julie permalink
    February 10, 2010 11:23 pm

    Oh no! Do you have a sling/pouch such as a baby bjorn? The wrap will work well for a couple of months maybe, but depends how fast bub puts on weight. My son was 8kg by 3 months! At least with a strap on pouch, bub will be quite secure on your front and you can possibly carry Queenie on your hip or back if necessary. Good luck!

    • wideopenworld permalink*
      February 12, 2010 2:44 pm

      I am thinking about one of the ring pouch things. Ever use one? Those that have seem to be fond of them up until toddlerhood. The only problem is finding them here, although I have seen one or two people with baby slings so they must be around here somewhere!

  2. February 11, 2010 1:37 am

    On the plus side, those stairs are quite beautiful…

    • wideopenworld permalink*
      February 12, 2010 2:45 pm

      Yes, beautiful and a bit scary! Good thing Queenie has enough sense not to walk down them alone! But the whole building is a beautiful Victorian building and we are so pleased with it. Nice big, spacious apartment. So different from what we are used to!

Leave a Reply

