Skip to content

Everything’s gonna be alright

March 3, 2010

At least that is what the doc says. Without committing too much, as no doc can commit truly and wholly to any opinion, he bascially told us that there is no reason to worry about Little N coming too early and that Principe going away for the weekend next weekend to get ridiculously drunk with his friends (the doc does not know it is a bachelor party. For some reason Principe didn’t want to add that little detail to the question!) will be no problem. We do have some friends of ours who are not usually in town (as they don’t have children and like to enjoy their weekends skiing or traveling) who will actually be in town that weekend “on call” for me. They are so sweet to do this. Queenie loves them and would be fine with them if Little N did decide to engage her head and come into the sunlight. Of all people this helps Principe go away with his conscience soothed, although he did mention with a bit of a whine that he won’t be able to enjoy himself AS MUCH AS HE WANTS just in case I end up calling him. To which I rolled my eyes and almost, ALMOST went into a rant about how many times since Queenie was born that he has had the opportunity to go out compared to the times that I have gone (that would be zero on my side), but I held my tongue. I am getting better at holding my tongue. Maybe because two friends of mine have mentioned that they may come to visit this summer and boy do I have plans if they do….! ( I have a nasty little smile on my lips right now…..!)

Somehow the day has gotten away with me and although I had a ton of post ideas running through my head earlier today I have dinner now on my mind as well as trying to come up with an idea on how to keep Queenie out of my scrapbooking stuff which is strewn everywhere. I am trying to organize it, but I am at a loss as to just how to do that. I mean, I have ideas, mostly ones stolen from my best friend and scrabooking bloggers, but I am at a loss as to where to buy the stuff needed in order to put those ideas into action. The worst thing about moving countries is that you have no idea where to go in order to buy certain stuff. If I were in the States I would head over to Target or Walmart, but those stores haven’t made it over here and I don’t see their arrival coming very soon. As much as Europeans love Walmart when they are in the States, they would hate to see it in their own country!

Hmmm. It is now about three hours later. I am sitting in the living room with Principe and two of his friends as their watch Spain vs. France play soccer. Principe again came home late (about 8:15) and therefor missed Queenie refusing to eat chicken and brocolli cassarole and instead opting for two hot dogs, a couple spoonfuls of SMACKS cereal, freexe dried cherries and strawberries from my Special K cereal and some applesauce. In the end she ate well and went to bed with a full tummy, which will hopefully keep her from waking up, but it DID NOT keep my frustration at bay from her refusing to eat what I had actually made for dinner. I am still in limbo on what to do about that. Since I obsess over my family’s fruit and veggie intake I think I am finally going to give up with the idea that if I give her veggies in their natural state or sticking out of rice and pasta in plain day in order to get her used to eating them and liking them and go more towards the Sneaky Chef way. I think I really messed up with her when she was younger with this eating thing. Or maybe not. Maybe she is just picky. I don’t know. Any kid friendly recipes you have lying around would be helpful.

At any rate I can’t concentrate any more. Principe wants me to stay in here with them but I think I’m going to go scrapbook a bit. They are speaking in French and watching soccer. Not exactly my idea of how to unwind at the end of the day!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 4, 2010 11:30 am

    My eldest refused to eat vegetables from age 2 to 3. Although she all had them before as a baby, one day she refused point blank to eat them. My mum read somewhere that it was a phase every single child goes through and they grow out of it. I can’t remember exactly the reason it gave, I think it was something to do with tastebuds or brain development or something. Well. a medical reason for it anyway. Or else I have seen Jessica Seinfeld’s book on how to sneak vegetables in things (spinach in chocolate brownie anyone?), apparently it worked. Chicken and broccoli casserole sounds nice to me though! As for the scrapbooking what type of material are you looking for? I might be able to help! X

    • wideopenworld permalink*
      March 4, 2010 9:57 pm

      Yeah, I tried making those brownies and they weren´t anything that Queenie would even look at much less eat, but I am willing to look into her other recipes. Try them, anyway. At least it seems like a phase most kids go through. Did you bother to keep giving them to her or did you just wait out the phase in exchange for less fighting? I guess I just dont know how much to fight over it, you know? Ugh. Anyway, I guess there is a scrapbooking store near here, but you must get there by car, so I am waiting for a Saturday to go. This Saturday we are going to the Braconte in St. Aubin, so this Saturday is out. Bummer. But if you know of any other stores or online places to go looking I’m all ears!

      • March 5, 2010 11:37 am

        I did try and make her eat her vegetables but it was quite a struggle. However she was quite fond of a particular store bought fresh vegetable soup (with big bits of vegetables in it),go figure! So I resorted to giving her a big bowl of it 3 / 4 times a week. But I would still put some vegetables on her plate and get her to eat 2 or 3 mouthfulls. Bribery works quite well too (no vegetables, no dessert) but I’m not too fond of that technique. I think that they should still have some vegetables on their plate. If you give up putting them there, they won’t be used to seeing them and it will make it harder when you try and reintroduce them to the plate. Well, that’s what I think anyway! We now have our 7 year old thinking that you have to try new foods 7 times to get to like them and since we told her that, she tries new things and eats them even if she doesn’t really like it. She now eats salad and mushrooms without a 2nd thought! It will get better. Just try not to make it too much of a battleground though, otherwise she could end up like my brother who nearly gets sick at the mere thought of brussels sprouts!

      • wideopenworld permalink*
        March 5, 2010 1:22 pm

        Thanks for the advice. I think Principe and I need to come up with a plan for how many times we tell her to try the veggies before letting it go in order to enjoy dinner. Not make it a fight, you know? Bribery doesn’t yet work, but that will be our plan of action soon. And seven times….that’s a good thing to remember when she is older. I want her to be exposed to food and to be adventurous because we love to travel and we love to eat. I just want her to learn to enjoy eating and I don’t see that happening if we our continually fighting about it!

Leave a Reply

