Skip to content

Protests in France..They are NOT a stereotype!

March 8, 2010

This past weekend I saw yet another two protests. I was going to write about them, but it would have only been a small excerpt since combined they consisted of about 50 people. In front were the Women’s Rights people talking about abortion and tacked on (literally) to them were the communists. I didn’t really get what the communists were demonstrating about. They really just looked like they had organized a handful of people to follow the feminists around. Perhaps they were just showing their support. I’m not sure. At any rate, it looked a bit funny and I couldn’t help but laugh at the strangeness of it all. Why bother demonstrating when you are less than 100 people? This is France. I don’t know.

From the day we moved here I have seen four protests. But today’s topped them all.

At around 1;20pm, after playing a bit of chase the ball down the hallway, Queenie and I started hearing a lot of honking and shouting outside. At first I blew it off as being some strange traffic at lunch hour, but it continued and I became curious. This is what I saw:

From my bad French I can tell that they are protesting jobs. Something about less water=8000 jobs lost. Which isn’t cool, granted, but I just had to giggle at the fact that at least fifty tractors drove by my huge city apartment today. And this is just Toulouse! Image what it is like in Paris! I have heard of the jokes about the French protesting but now that I have seen it live, I understand that they are not jokes, they are just funny facts about French culture. They protest a lot. A lot.

Ah, well. Gotta love freedom of speech. Plus, Queenie thought it was pretty cool that we not only have maneenono (snowman snow) today, but we got to watch a bunch of vroom-vrooms got by our house. It must have given her good dreams because she took a sweet three hour nap afterwards!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 9, 2010 1:18 pm

    We’re a nation of moaners! And yes we do not do things by half. Wait till you see gallons of milk poured in front of government buildings and perfectly good ‘foreign’ vegetables being just spilled on the streets in protest. Oh and the very famous ‘operations escargot’ on the motorways… Strangely enough, I miss all this. I feel that people here are not using their voices enough. I know it isn’t all that great when you are stranded somewhere because of it and all that, but if the reasons are valid then I support them. My dad works for the SNCF and many a time he didn’t tell me there was a strike on and I turned up at the trainstation to go to college only to have to get a bus. Let’s just say he got an earful when I got a hold of him! How’s baby doing?

    • wideopenworld permalink*
      March 9, 2010 10:36 pm

      I like that you guys are the ultimate in Free Speech! It’s just funny because it is true! Protesting can be good and it can be bad…it all depends on so many things. But at least the French are passionate about what their government does whereas most countries just let it pass. Like the States.
      Baby is fine, I guess. Not much has changed, although I am getting to the stage where I am nervous something embarrassing will happen out in public! Maybe I’ll just stop leaving the house…..

Leave a Reply

