Skip to content

This is where I live Thursday…on Thursday!

March 11, 2010

Wow, I’m getting things done early today, despite the fact that Queenie was awake from 3:30-5:00 Am and then woke up for good at 8. Not that I wasn’t awake already since Principe’s alarm clock goes off at 7:15 Am and I was already awake enough to tell him to wake up on his own and turn off the darn alarm before it wakes up Queenie. Didn’t matter though, in the end. Although I got to stay in bed another half an hour I wasn’t asleep and with all the creaking that the floors do there wasn’t much chance of Queenie sleeping through her papa going to and from the shower, kitchen and bedroom. Ah, well. What really gets me I think is the amount of energy that toddlers have in the morning even when they haven’t slept a whole night. That energy goes south fairly quickly around noon, of course, but it is the number of times I have hear “mama” or “maneeno” or “deedee” this morning. Repeated over and over and over and over until I answer the correct answer that she was looking for in the first place. All she wants is some attention and someone to play with and all I want is a shower and a cup of coffee. And the printer to be full of ink, because it decided this morning that it no longer had any in it and to show its disgust at me not knowing in the first place it decided to paper jam a few 4×6 picture pages. Not an easy jam to figure out. Especially when Queenie decided to chuck a few of her choo-choos down the pipe of the sofa-bed and can’t seem to understand that mommy’s situation comes before hers. Why? Because I’m the mommy, that’s why! Oh, I can’t wait until she understands that phrase!

Okay, mood is getting back in order. The sun is hiding, it is exactly 0 degrees Celsius (32 degrees F) outside and if I’m not careful I could allow the weather to dictate my sense of humor. We have to go outside as we didn’t go yesterday and we are in desperate need of some fresh fruit. It will be cold, but we’ll survive, I’m sure. And then Queenie will take the longest nap in history….right?

No, no I didn’t forget. Here are the pictures. This is of Place du Wilson and the permanent Carousel that they have there. A must see (though a must avoid most days you want to get anything done!) in Toulouse.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 12, 2010 11:14 am

    I love the carousel. The last time we were over it was closed very much to the disapointment of Marie. Creaky floorboards and upstairs neighbours are such a pain. My uncle and auntie who live in an old hotel particulier appartement in the centre of Toulouse have asked their neighbours countless times to wear slippers at home and not high heels as it just resonates through the whole house. Although we live in a bungalow, we have an upstairs neighbour (the attic has been converted in a little appartment) and the other day she watched the television until 5 am, not to mention the fact that she sprained her ankle and the only for her to go around is to hop!

  2. wideopenworld permalink*
    March 12, 2010 4:31 pm

    (groan!) The woman upstairs wears heels a lot….and at 9pm! It is very strange to me. Basic consideration, you know? I can handle noise as it was our option to live here, but watching tv too loud or stomping around is just ridiculous! Well, as we might have a screaming baby soon we haven’t dared to ask anyone to quiet down…although I may start screaming at the people on the street at bar time!

Leave a Reply

